Boundary Waters

The Boundary Waters District serves the majority of St. Louis County.  Major cities are Ely, Hibbing, and Virginia.

District Events

District Leadership

Brad Olson – District Director 

Brad started off in Scouting at the age of 5 when he joined Tiger Cubs. He worked his way through Cub Scouts and earned his Arrow of Light Award. At age 10, he joined Troop 229. In 1992, he earned the Eagle Scout Award. Brad was elected to the Order of the Arrow in 1990. He is a past Lodge Chief and is a Vigil Member.

Brad worked at Camp Wilderness in Park Rapids for 25 years. He started as a Counselor in Training in 1991, worked on the Waterfront from 1992-1996, Program Director from 1997-1999, Camp Director from 2000-2004, and the Reservation Director from 2005-2015.

Brad has a bachelor degree in Business Administration from North Dakota State University. While at NDSU, Brad was involved in numerous organizations. His most notable was being elected Student Body President in 1999.

Brad is currently the District Director for the Northern Lakes District in Bemidji, MN. He has been a professional Scouter since 2000; Camping Executive, 2000-2004; Senior Camping Executive, 2004-2006; Program Director, 2006-2015; and District Director, 2015-present.

  Terry Tilton – District Chair

Mara Spaeth – District Commissioner